Mamingwey Chat!

Mamingwey Chat is an online support group and a great opportunity to connect with other burn survivors. All burn survivors, family members, friends, burn unit staff and firefighters are welcome. These meetings generally take place on the second Tuesday of each month. Please contact for more information or to get the Zoom link.

Our New Logo!

Our deepest appreciation to Canadian artist Kal Barteski for modifying our logo! Kal created the original Mamingwey Burn Survivor Society logo back in 2003. As we are now the Mamingwey Burn Society Inc., Kal has graciously made the changes for us. Thanks so much Kal! If you would like to learn more about Kal or view her artwork or learn about her Polar Bear Fund, please visit her website!

2019 Thomas Hart Memorial Scholarship recipients

Congratulations to the 2 successful recipients of the Thomas Hart Memorial Scholarship for 2019.

Dawson Blahey

Jared Heinrichs

Dawson Blahey is studying at the U of M and is in his second year of Agriculture and is majoring in Business Management.


Jared Heinrichs is studying Heavy Duty Equipment Technician at Assiniboine Community College in Brandon. He would like to be a heavy duty diesel mechanic.

Our recipients ( Jared Heinrich, Dawson Blahey) pictured with the Hart family members John Hart, Ellora Hart, Hazel Booth and Karen Hart.

2019 International Face Equality Week

On May 23, 2019 The Mamingwey Burn Survivor Society hosted a reception, as a part of International Face Equality Week, in order to raise awareness of the issue of facial discrimination. This event was one of 3 that will take place in Canada.

2019 Conference

The 2019 Mamingwey Burn Survivor Conference will be held at the Canad Inns Polo Park Hotel at 1405 St. Mathews Ave. Winnipeg Mb with a new format of full day programming on Saturday and half day program on Sunday. This year the conference is October 19 & 20, 2019. They Keynote speaker this year is Samoana Matagi. The theme of this years conference is “Awakening the Warrior Within”.